Symud i'r prif gynnwys

357 Welsh Judges. The High Sheriffs of Wales used to be sworn in before two or three members of the Council at Ludlow, and in the Calendar of State Papers for Nov. 1591 is a list giving the names of the Sheriffs and the members who administered the oath of office to them at that date. The Court of the Marches never exercised much influence after the Civil War, and the system of feudal tenures having been abolished by Car. II., and the Great Sessions making its retention quite unnecessary, it was finally abolished by Act of Parliament 1 William and Mary, stat. 1, cap. 27, when " The Court before the President and Council in the Marches of Wales " ceased to exist. By 5 W. and M. cap. 4 the law limiting the number of Justices of the Peace to eight (other than those ex-officio), was also abolished. LIST. OF THE LORD PRESIDENTS OF WALES. 1 Hen. I. (1108). Richard de Beaumis Belmis, or Rufus I., Bishop of London (?). 18 Edw. IV. (on 10 April 1478). John Alcock, Bishop of Worcester. 1501. William Smythe, Bishop of Lincoln. 1513. Geoffrey Blyth, Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry. I525- John Voysey, or Vescie, alias Harman, Bishop of Exeter. 1534. Rowland Lee, Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry. 1543. Richard Sampson, Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry. 1548. John Sutton, alias Dudley, Earl of Warwick, aft. Duke of Northumberland. 1550. April 8. William Lord Herbert, aft. Earl of Pem¬ broke. J553- Sept. 29. Nicholas Heath, Bishop of Worcester. 1557. : William Herbert, Earl of Pembroke. 1558. Oct. 27. Gilbert Bourne, Bishop of Bath and Wells.